Prana Pocket Spring Latex Mattress
- 100% natural latex (pin core) over 3-zone individually wrapped pocket springs
- 8 inch (20.3 cm) thick; Double sizes 72 to 84 in long x 42 or 48 in wide
- 10-year conditional warranty
Measure the bed frame first, because Kurlon, Duroflex and IKEA each define a double differently. Then read the firmness label against the weight and sleeping position of both sleepers, and decide between foam and spring. Five mattresses are listed.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read the disclosure.
The search term mattress double bed covers several different sizes in India, since a double is a brand specific size and not a fixed one. The size decides which products can be considered at all, and the firmness label and the construction decide the rest.
Five mattresses from Duroflex, Wakefit, Kurlon and IKEA are described below, using the figures on their own pages.
Kurlon states that its standard double is 72 by 48 in, and the brand offers double sizes up to 84 by 48 in. Duroflex lists eight double sizes, with lengths of 72, 75, 78 and 84 in and widths of 42 or 48 in.
The Duroflex Prana page keeps the Double (42 and 48 in wide) separate from the Queen (60 and 66 in wide). A frame that is 60 in across falls under Queen at Duroflex and not under Double.
IKEA India lists mattresses in centimetres. The ÅFJÄLL foam mattress comes in 140 x 200, 150 x 180, 160 x 200, 180 x 180 and 180 x 200 cm, along with narrower 80 x 200 and 90 x 200 cm sizes.
The inner length and width of the bed frame, measured between the headboard and footboard and between the side rails, give the two numbers to match. Those numbers can then be set against the brand’s own size chart.
Sleep Foundation says there is no universally accepted measure of mattress firmness, so each manufacturer may use its own system. Its scale runs from 1 for extra soft to 10 for extra firm, and most mattresses are rated around 5 or 6.
The same mattress is likely to feel softer to a heavier person and firmer to a lighter one. Sleepers over 230 lb, which is about 104 kg, tend to prefer firmer surfaces, from Medium Firm at 6 up to Extra Firm, while sleepers under 130 lb tend to prefer softer models.
Sleeping position matters as well. Side sleepers often like a surface from soft at 2 to firm at 7, and back sleepers and stomach sleepers from soft at 3 to firm at 8, depending on weight.
Brand labels show the same inconsistency. Kurlon tags its coir ranges Firm or Extra firm, its foam ranges Medium firm, Medium soft or dual, and its SpringRest Bonnell Essential Medium firm. Duroflex tags the Back Magic Pro as Firm and the Prana as Medium Firm on its collection page, yet the Prana page itself says Medium Soft, Medium and Medium firm in different places.
Two sleepers of different weights read the same label differently. Sleep Foundation says many couples settle on a surface between their preferred levels, and for substantially different preferences it suggests a dual firmness mattress.
Sleep Foundation describes innerspring surfaces as bouncier, with limited motion isolation, and says they often lack pressure relief. It describes foam as a good fit for side sleepers and for couples.
The five mattresses cover both camps. The Duroflex Back Magic Pro, the Wakefit DreamPod and the IKEA ÅFJÄLL are foam, the Kurlon SpringRest Bonnell Essential is a Bonnell spring, and the Duroflex Prana puts natural latex over pocket springs.
| Mattress | Build and label | Thickness | Sizes listed |
|---|---|---|---|
| Duroflex Prana | Latex over pocket springs, label varies | 8 inch | Double, 42 or 48 in wide |
| Duroflex Back Magic Pro | Foam, firm | 6 inch | Double, 42 or 48 in wide |
| Wakefit DreamPod | HR foam, medium firm | 3 inch | King only |
| Kurlon SpringRest Bonnell | Bonnell spring, medium firm | Not stated | Double, size not given |
| IKEA AFJALL | Polyurethane foam, medium firm | 12 cm | 140 x 200 and 160 x 200 cm among others |
The Prana Pocket Spring Latex Mattress from Duroflex uses 100% natural latex with a pin core, over 3 zone individually wrapped pocket springs. It is 8 inch thick, comes in the Double sizes of 72 to 84 in long and 42 or 48 in wide, and carries a ten year conditional warranty.
Its feel label is inconsistent on the page, so the label alone does not settle how firm it is. It suits a couple who want a spring and latex build in a standard double size.
The Back Magic Pro Orthopedic Mattress is listed as Firm, with a tight top and a 5 zone support system, as the brand states. It is 6 inch thick, comes in the same double sizes, and carries a seven year conditional warranty, though the page does not list the conditions.
Its page names the core as rebonded foam in its specification tables and as memory foam in its feature list, so the core material is unclear. It suits a sleeper who wants a firm foam mattress in a standard double size.
The Wakefit DreamPod Medium Firm HR Foam Mattress uses HR foam with an open cell structure. It is 3 inches thick, reversible, and has a removable zip cover.
Its listing shows only a King size, 72 x 70 in, and no double size, so it cannot be matched to a double frame from the page. The warranty is stated differently in the text and on the badge, so no term is given here.
The Kurlon SpringRest Bonnell Essential Spring Mattress is a Bonnell spring build labelled Medium firm, offered in Double, with a ten year warranty listed. Kurlon states the standard double as 72 by 48 in, yet the listing page gives no thickness or double size for this model, and the Kurlon range averages about 8 inches in thickness.
IKEA lists the ÅFJÄLL as medium firm, made of two layers of polyurethane foam at 28 kg per cubic metre. It is 12 cm thick, has a washable cover (maximum 60 C), and lists a ten year warranty.
It suits a buyer with a metric sized or modular bed frame who wants a plain medium firm foam mattress. At 12 cm it is thin, and the page does not state a home trial period.
A frame of 72 by 48 in, the standard double that Kurlon states, can be matched against the Kurlon and Duroflex listings, since both state sizes in inches. A metric frame points toward the IKEA ÅFJÄLL, whose sizes are listed in centimetres.
Two sleepers of very different weights have the Sleep Foundation advice to follow. A middle level label is the compromise it describes, and a dual firmness mattress is the option for widely different preferences.
Foam suits readers who follow the Sleep Foundation view of couples, and three of the five are foam. Readers who prefer spring have two options, the Duroflex Prana and the Kurlon SpringRest Bonnell Essential, and each has limits on its own page.
The Wakefit DreamPod is the one product here with no double size on its page, so it fits a double frame only if the seller confirms a size.
The warranty lines on these pages are not alike. Duroflex calls both of its warranties conditional, and the Back Magic Pro page lists no conditions. Kurlon and IKEA list a term of ten years without further detail, and the Wakefit page gives two different terms.
A warranty and a trial are different protections, and the Wakefit trial is described on its own pages as a trial and not a warranty. The IKEA ÅFJÄLL page does not state a home trial period.
Brands define the size differently, so the inner length and width of the bed frame are the figures to match. Kurlon, Duroflex and IKEA each publish their own double or near double sizes.
No universally accepted measure exists, as per Sleep Foundation, so each manufacturer may use its own system. A label such as medium firm therefore needs reading alongside the brand's description.
A topper cannot revive a bed that is already worn out, according to Sleep Foundation. Its page gives no replacement age in years.
Wakefit's firm mattress category page advertises a 100 day trial, and the DreamPod page lists a 100 night money back trial. The category page describes it as a trial and not a warranty.
The NHS advises seeing a GP if back pain does not improve after treating it at home for a few weeks, or if it is worse at night. The NHS page is about back pain in general and does not discuss mattresses.