The Flexibell Adjustable Dumbbell (2.5-24 kg)
- 2.5 to 24 kg in 1-1.5 kg increments, dial adjustment
- 45 x 21 x 21 cm per dumbbell
- 1 year warranty; sold as single, pair or pair with stand
A dial dumbbell changes weight in one move, while a plate and collar kit has to be loaded by hand. The kg label needs a close read, since it may mean one dumbbell, a pair or a total. Four options from Flexnest, Domyos and PowerMax are compared.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read the disclosure.
Adjustable dumbbells replace a rack of fixed weights, which matters in a small flat with no rack or bench. Two mechanisms are sold in India, a dial selector and a plate and collar kit.
Flexnest’s Flexibell changes weight at the click of a dial, in steps of 1 to 1.5 kg, according to the brand’s page. A change takes a moment, so moving from light curls to heavier rows does not interrupt a workout for long.
Kit style sets such as the Domyos and the PowerMax work differently. Plates are loaded onto rods and held in place with collars, and each change of weight means removing the collars and sliding plates on or off.
A dial offers fast changes between exercises. A plate kit offers more plate steps than a fixed pair, and the PowerMax contents list shows plates in two weights.
A kilogram figure on a listing can mean the weight of one dumbbell, the total of a pair or the combined load of all plates. The listing has to be read to see which of these applies.
Flexnest sells a single dumbbell, a pair, or a pair with a stand, so a pair means two units, each at the stated range. Decathlon’s category page lists the same brand as a set of one or a set of two.
A stated tolerance is the second point. Flexnest says the dial levels are approximate and that the actual weight can vary by up to 5% from the indicated value.
The PowerMax listing on Flipkart gives a clear example of why the contents list matters. It is labelled as a 24 kg set, yet the listed plates add up to 18 kg by simple arithmetic, so the label and the contents do not match.
Mayo Clinic advises beginning with a weight that can be lifted comfortably 12 to 15 times. It says the load should go up slowly as strength grows, and only while form stays correct.
The same page recommends a warm up of brisk walking or other aerobic activity before lifting. It adds that if good form cannot be kept, the weight or the repetitions should come down, and that footwear should protect the feet and give traction.
These are general guidelines from a clinic and not advice for any one person. Collars and locking methods are not covered on the Mayo page, so it offers nothing on how securely a kit holds its plates.
| Option | How weight changes | Stated weight | Warranty |
|---|---|---|---|
| Flexnest Flexibell | Dial | 2.5 to 24 kg | 1 year |
| Flexnest Flexibell+ | Dial | Up to 40 kg | 1 year |
| Domyos cast iron kit | Not stated | 20 kg total | 2 years |
| PowerMax PDS-20+ | Plates and star collars | 24 kg label | Not stated |
The Flexibell covers 2.5 to 24 kg by dial, and each dumbbell measures 45 x 21 x 21 cm. The brand does not list the materials.
Decathlon’s strength category lists Flexnest iron adjustable dumbbells in this range, sold as a set of one or two. A lifter who wants to change load quickly and has floor space for a dumbbell of that length is the buyer the listing fits.
Up to 5% of variance applies to this model, so the dial figure is a guide and not an exact weight.
The larger model reaches 40 kg per dumbbell and measures 45 x 23 x 25 cm. It suits a lifter who expects to outgrow the lighter model.
Its lower end is given inconsistently. The brand page and the Decathlon listing give different starting weights for it, so the minimum is better confirmed with the seller before ordering.
Dumbbells of this size take more room, as the extra height and width show against the lighter model. The same tolerance is stated.
A 20 kg set in partly recycled cast iron comes from Domyos, a Decathlon brand, and it is described as a portable kit that comes with a case. Its warranty and replacement terms are covered further down.
Plates, bars, handle and locking method are all missing from the page, and Decathlon’s category page calls the product a set without saying it is adjustable. The product URL does call it an adjustable kit, so confirming the contents before ordering would settle the question.
A beginner who wants a loadable kit with a carry case in place of a dial is the reader this option speaks to.
The PDS-20+ from PowerMax has a non slip grip. Its contents are four plates of 2.5 kg, four plates of 2 kg, two rods and four star collars, and the listing says a bench is not included.
This option was verified only on a Flipkart retailer page and not on a PowerMax page, and the material is not stated. The gap between the label and the plate total, described above, also applies.
Several points are missing from the pages, and each can be put to the seller in a single message. The first is the exact contents of the Domyos kit, including the plates, the bars and the locking method.
The second is the starting weight of the Flexibell+, where the brand page and the retailer differ. The third is the material and the build of the dial mechanism, which the Flexnest page does not describe.
For the PowerMax, the question is which figure is correct, the one on the label or the total of the listed plates. A reply in writing gives the buyer something to refer to if the kit arrives different from the listing.
Without a rack or bench, the exercises available are those done standing, kneeling or on the floor. One pair of dial dumbbells covers every load in its range, and Flexnest sells a pair together with a stand.
The Domyos kit comes with a case that holds it together. On a smooth tile floor, Mayo Clinic’s advice on footwear that gives traction applies to both types of dumbbell.
Both Flexnest models are 45 cm long, and a pair needs room on the floor or on the stand that Flexnest offers. A kit like the Domyos comes with a case, so the parts can be kept together.
None of the pages gives a weight for the finished dumbbell beyond the load. Flexnest does not state the materials either, which leaves the build quality of the dial mechanism open to questions for the seller.
Terms vary across the four options. Flexnest lists 1 year on both models, Domyos lists 2 years plus a 30 day replacement, and no warranty is stated on the PowerMax listing.
Support after a purchase depends on the seller as well as the brand, as the PowerMax listing is a retailer’s and the Flexnest and Domyos pages come from the brands themselves.
Mayo Clinic suggests a weight that can be lifted comfortably for 12 to 15 repetitions. It adds that the load goes up slowly and only while form stays correct.
Flexnest states that the dial levels are approximate, with a variance of up to 5% either way. The label is therefore a guide and not an exact figure.
Brisk walking or other aerobic activity for a few minutes beforehand is recommended by Mayo Clinic. Cold muscles, it says, are more prone to injury.
The lighter Flexnest model measures close to half a metre in length. Floor space and storage are worth checking before the order is placed.
Single, pair and pair with stand are all offered by Flexnest, and Decathlon lists the same brand as a set of one or two. The listing needs to be read to see how many pieces are included.