Independent buying guides for India. PickWise India earns from qualifying Amazon purchases. How we are funded
PickWise India

Best home gym equipment for small space in India

By PickWise India EditorialLast reviewed November 20267 min read5 products compared

Short answer

In a rented flat, home gym equipment is best chosen by how it mounts and stows. A doorway bar needs no drilling, while a walking pad or bench needs a floor spot. The NHS asks adults for aerobic minutes and separate strength days, so one cardio item and one strength item cover the basics.

As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read the disclosure.

Picks at a glance
  1. Lifelong Adjustable Doorway Pull-Up Bar (LLPB03)A renter who wants upper-body strength work without drilling into walls.
  2. Lifelong 4HP Motorized Walking Pad Treadmill (LLTM185)A flat dweller who wants indoor walking minutes toward the NHS 150-minute target and can spare a floor corner.
  3. Cult Strivo Foldable Adjustable Workout BenchA reader adding dumbbell strength work who wants an adjustable foldable bench.
  4. Domyos Gym Bench 100, Foldable, Beginner, Delivered AssembledA beginner who wants a bench that arrives assembled and folds away.
  5. Lifelong 200kg Adjustable Aerobic Stepper with 3 Height Settings (LLAS01)A reader who wants a low-footprint cardio option that can be slid under a bed or sofa (our suggestion; storage is not stated on the page).

The best home gym equipment for small space in a rented flat is chosen by how it mounts and how it stows, and the five items below cover one corner of a room with no drilling into walls. Three come from Lifelong, one from Cult and one from the Decathlon brand Domyos.

Renters in a 1BHK or 2BHK flat, with about one corner of a room to spare, often want both cardio and strength work. The list is split between those two needs, so that one cardio item and one strength item can be matched without buying everything.

Measuring the door and the floor

Two measurements decide most of this list. The width of a door frame decides whether a doorway bar can be used, and the floor spot decides whether a bench or a walking pad has room.

Lifelong lists its LLPB03 doorway bar as fitting door frames 75 to 92 cm wide. A frame outside that range would not suit it, and the width is easy to check with a tape before ordering.

Floor gear is harder to judge from the pages. Cult lists its Strivo bench at 129 x 42 x 116 cm, and the page does not say whether that size is folded or open.

Domyos gives no dimensions for its bench. Lifelong’s stepper has the smallest stated footprint, with a platform of 67.9 x 27.9 cm.

What the NHS asks of adults

Guidance from the NHS covers adults aged 19 to 64 and sets two separate targets. The first is at least 150 minutes of moderate aerobic activity a week, or 75 minutes of vigorous activity, or a mix of the two.

Strength work is the second target. The NHS asks for muscle strengthening activity on at least 2 days a week that works all the major muscle groups, and it says strength exercises do not count toward the aerobic minutes.

Walking pads and steppers address the first target, while doorway bars and benches address the second. Splitting a small budget between one item of each kind follows that structure.

The NHS allows a choice between moderate and vigorous activity for the aerobic target. None of the five listings says which intensity its item produces, so no item can be matched to a minutes target from the pages alone.

In November 2026 the five listings gave no confirmation that they could be ordered.

Pick 1
Lifelong
Lifelong

Lifelong Adjustable Doorway Pull-Up Bar (LLPB03)

  • Fits door frames 75-92 cm wide
  • No-drill, no-screw doorway mount
  • Carbon steel; 200 kg maximum weight recommendation
SuitsA renter who wants upper-body strength work without drilling into walls.
Keep in mindThe page states no warranty and says returns and exchanges are not accepted after delivery (7-day replacement only for damaged, defective or incorrect items).
View on Amazon India Opens Amazon India. Price and offers are shown there.
Pick 2
Lifelong
Lifelong

Lifelong 4HP Motorized Walking Pad Treadmill (LLTM185)

  • 107 x 58 x 114 cm product dimensions, 19.6 kg item weight
  • 4 HP brushless motor, up to 8 km/h, 110 kg max user weight
  • Foldable frame, 2 manual incline levels, LED display and remote
SuitsA flat dweller who wants indoor walking minutes toward the NHS 150-minute target and can spare a floor corner.
Keep in mindThe page gives no folded dimensions, belt size, noise claim or warranty.
View on Amazon India Opens Amazon India. Price and offers are shown there.
Pick 3
Cult
Cult

Cult Strivo Foldable Adjustable Workout Bench

  • 129 x 42 x 116 cm (page does not say folded or open)
  • 350 kg max load including user and weights
  • Mild steel frame, 12 mm plywood base, 35 mm high-density foam; 6 incline, 1 flat, 1 decline
SuitsA reader adding dumbbell strength work who wants an adjustable foldable bench.
Keep in mindThe page lists no weight or warranty (it shows a 30-day exchange and no returns), and does not say whether the dimensions are folded or open.
View on Amazon India Opens Amazon India. Price and offers are shown there.
Pick 4
Domyos
Domyos

Gym Bench 100, Foldable, Beginner, Delivered Assembled

  • Supports up to 200 kg
  • Folding feet for compact storage
  • Delivered pre-assembled; 2 year warranty
SuitsA beginner who wants a bench that arrives assembled and folds away.
Keep in mindThe page lists no folded or open dimensions, weight or adjustability.
View on Amazon India Opens Amazon India. Price and offers are shown there.
Pick 5
Lifelong
Lifelong

Lifelong 200kg Adjustable Aerobic Stepper with 3 Height Settings (LLAS01)

  • Platform 67.9 x 27.9 cm, overall height 15 cm
  • 3 height settings (centimetres not listed)
  • Polypropylene; 200 kg capacity
SuitsA reader who wants a low-footprint cardio option that can be slid under a bed or sofa (our suggestion; storage is not stated on the page).
Keep in mindThe page lists no warranty (7-day replacement for damaged, defective or incorrect items only) and no per-setting heights.
View on Amazon India Opens Amazon India. Price and offers are shown there.
Home gym items compared on sizes and loads stated by the listing pages
ItemTypeStated sizeStated load
Lifelong LLPB03Doorway barFits 75 to 92 cm frames200 kg recommended
Lifelong walking pad LLTM185Cardio107 x 58 x 114 cm110 kg user
Cult Strivo benchStrength129 x 42 x 116 cm350 kg
Domyos Gym Bench 100StrengthNot stated200 kg
Lifelong stepper LLAS01Cardio67.9 x 27.9 cm platform200 kg

Strength: a doorway bar

Lifelong’s LLPB03 is the option for renters who cannot drill into walls. The brand describes a no drill, no screw doorway mount and a carbon steel build, with a maximum weight recommendation of 200 kg.

Its collection page mixes doorway and wall mounted pull up bars, and the weight figures differ between listings. A description on that collection page gives a figure that does not match the listings, so only the listing level figure is used here.

Frame width, discussed above, is the one measurement that cannot be skipped with this bar.

Strength: two benches

The Cult Strivo foldable adjustable bench suits a reader adding dumbbell work. Its page lists a mild steel frame, a 12 mm plywood base and 35 mm high density foam, with six incline positions, one flat and one decline.

Domyos takes a different route with its Gym Bench 100, a beginner model delivered assembled. The listing gives folding feet for compact storage, and it states no folded or open dimensions, weight or adjustability.

Between the two, the Cult bench lists more positions and a higher load, while the Domyos bench arrives assembled and carries a warranty. Neither page gives a folded size, so the storage question stays open for both.

Foldability is described differently on the two pages. Cult puts it in the product name and Domyos describes folding feet, and neither gives the size once folded.

A bench builds nothing alone. It is a support for dumbbell work, and the Cult page states that its load figure includes the user and the weights.

Cardio: a walking pad

Indoor walking minutes toward the NHS aerobic target are what the Lifelong 4HP walking pad treadmill, model LLTM185, is for. Lifelong lists a brushless motor rated at 4 HP and speeds up to 8 km/h.

Its frame is foldable, with manual incline in 2 levels, an LED display and a remote. The product is listed at 107 x 58 x 114 cm.

Weight is listed as 19.6 kg, so moving it between rooms means lifting close to 20 kg. The page gives no folded dimensions, belt size, noise claim or warranty.

Flat dwellers who can spare a floor corner are the intended users for indoor walking. Noise would matter to a flat with neighbours below, yet no noise claim is made, and floor vibration is not discussed either.

Cardio: a stepper

Lifelong’s adjustable aerobic stepper, model LLAS01, is the low footprint cardio option. It is made of polypropylene, has 3 height settings and is listed at 15 cm in total height.

Centimetres for each setting are not listed. Storage is not described either, and from the dimensions alone, a platform this low might slide under a bed or sofa, though that is an observation and not a claim from the page.

How the load limits are worded

Each page words its limit differently. The bar carries a maximum weight recommendation, and the walking pad gives a maximum user weight of 110 kg.

Cult states a maximum load of 350 kg that includes the user and the weights. Domyos says its bench supports up to 200 kg, and the stepper page gives a capacity, with neither saying what the figure covers.

Limits that sound similar are therefore not always the same measure. A user weight on a pad and a combined load on a bench cannot be compared directly.

Warranty and returns

Only the Domyos bench lists a warranty, which is 2 years. The Lifelong pages list none for the bar, the walking pad or the stepper.

Returns are handled differently on each page. The bar page says returns and exchanges are not accepted after delivery, with a replacement offered only for damaged, defective or incorrect items, and the stepper page offers the same kind of replacement window.

Cult shows a 30 day exchange and no returns, and lists no warranty. Lifelong and Cult buyers would be relying on those exchange terms alone.

Pairing the five

A door frame and a small corner could take the doorway bar and the stepper, as together they have the least stated floor area. Both are Lifelong items, and both carry a replacement window in place of a warranty.

With a larger corner free, the walking pad and a bench become possible, though no folded size is stated for the pad or for either bench.

Strength and cardio targets can also be met by one purchase each, with no overlap between the two items. A reader who has already chosen a bar for strength would only need to look at the cardio entries. The bar and the pad are the two most different kinds of work on the list, and a Domyos or Cult bench adds dumbbell work to that mix.

Walking pad or stepper

The walking pad is motorised and the stepper is not, going by their listings. The pad lists a display, a remote and a foldable frame, while the stepper lists a set of height positions on a plastic platform.

Footprint differs too. The stepper platform covers about 30% of the pad’s stated floor area, going by length and width.

Neither listing states a folded or stored size, and the stepper page does not describe storage at all. A reader weighing the two would therefore be comparing stated floor areas and features only, with storage left for the seller to explain.

Bar or bench

Mounting is the main difference. The bar sits in a door frame and leaves the floor free, whereas a bench needs a floor spot for the whole session.

Loads are close for the bar and the Domyos bench, with the Cult bench listing a higher figure. The wording of each limit is covered above, and it does not allow a direct comparison.

If only one item fits

A reader with room for a single item is choosing between targets, as the NHS treats the aerobic minutes and the strength days as separate. One item covers one target only.

For strength alone, the doorway bar uses the least floor. For cardio alone, the stepper has the smallest stated footprint and the pad has more listed features.

Questions the pages leave open

Several details are missing from the five listings, and a seller would have to supply them.

  • Folded dimensions for the walking pad, the Cult bench and the Domyos bench
  • Belt size and noise level for the walking pad
  • Weight of both benches
  • Height in centimetres of each stepper setting

Three of the five items are from Lifelong, so the brand range is narrow. Adjustable dumbbells, resistance bands and yoga mats are not in this list.

Frequently asked questions

Should a person see a doctor before starting a home routine?

Speaking to a GP first is the NHS advice for anyone who has not exercised in a while or who has a medical condition.

Which muscle groups should strength work cover?

Legs, hips, back, abdomen, chest, shoulders and arms are the major muscle groups named by the NHS for adults.

Will a doorway bar fit every door?

Fit depends on the frame width, so the frame should be measured and compared with the width range printed on the listing. Lifelong gives such a range for its LLPB03 model.

How can aerobic exercise be spread through the week?

Four to five days a week, or every day, is the NHS suggestion for adults.

Sources