The best electric toothbrush for a first time buyer in India depends on charging habits before it depends on any feature. Four models from Philips and Colgate are compared here, two rechargeable and two battery powered, using what each brand page states. Nothing here comes from using the brushes, and every detail is taken from brand pages and dental guidance.
Dental bodies do not treat an electric brush as a requirement. The NHS says it does not matter whether a person uses an electric or a manual toothbrush, as long as every surface of every tooth is cleaned with fluoride toothpaste.
American Dental Association (ADA) guidance says either a manual or a powered brush can be used effectively. It adds that powered brushes can cost more, and that they may be easier for people with dexterity problems or braces.
Advice from the NHS and the ADA
Adults are told by the NHS to use toothpaste with at least 1,350 parts per million of fluoride. The excess should be spat out, and rinsing with water afterwards is not advised.
On bristles and pressure, the ADA recommends a soft bristled brush used with gentle pressure.
Brand claims sit on a different footing from that guidance. The Philips ProtectiveClean 4300 page states that the brush removes 7x more plaque than a manual brush, and the page shows no visible footnote for that comparison. It is repeated here only as a statement by the brand.
The ADA Seal means a product was evaluated by the ADA Council on Scientific Affairs, and powered brushes are tested against standards and also a clinical study before it is given. None of the India brand pages read for this guide mention the Seal, so the four models cannot be sorted by it.
With the dental sources treating both kinds of brush as acceptable, the choice between models rests on practical points. Those are the battery system, the timer, any pressure feedback and the supply of replacement heads, all of which the brand pages describe in some form.
The wording of brand claims also deserves a close read. Phrases that begin with up to, whether for battery life or for brush speed, are ceilings set by the manufacturer, and a reader is left to treat each one as a brand statement.
Should I buy a rechargeable or a battery electric toothbrush?
Charging habits settle this choice before any feature does. The Philips ProtectiveClean 4300 states a rechargeable lithium ion battery with operating time of up to 2 weeks. Colgate says the ProClinical 250R is rechargeable, with a charge lasting 8 to 10 days depending on use.
Both of those figures are upper limits stated by the brands, and the Colgate figure depends on use.
Battery models work differently. The Philips One by Sonicare and the Colgate ProClinical B150 take batteries, and Colgate states that the B150 uses AAA alkaline cells while the Philips One page does not state a battery type.
A battery brush removes the charging step from the routine. Neither page gives a run time, so how long a set of cells lasts is not something either brand has put in writing.
Do timers, pressure feedback and modes matter?
Philips and Colgate both build a timer into the models compared here. The Philips One page describes a buzz at regular intervals during the brushing session.
Pressure feedback appears on only one page. The ProtectiveClean 4300 lists a pressure sensor, along with QuadPacer and SmarTimer, and one Clean mode that has Low and High intensity.
Colgate describes timers in its FAQ, and neither Colgate page mentions pressure feedback. The Philips One page lists no modes, and the Colgate page gives none for the B150.
Taken together, the wording separates the Philips One, which buzzes during the session, from the Colgate models, which are described only as having a timer. The 4300 page names three separate timing and pacing features, so it carries the most detail on this point.
Rechargeable models in detail
The Philips Sonicare ProtectiveClean 4300 (HX6807/24) comes with one W2 Optimal White brush head. Its warranty is a limited warranty of 2 years.
Its page does not mention a travel case. The model suits a buyer who wants a rechargeable brush with pressure feedback and a timer, and who is comfortable judging it on those listed features.
Colgate lists the ProClinical 250R with one brush head and a charger, and the Colgate FAQ gives it a two minute timer. A launch release from 2022 adds sonic action of up to 30,000 strokes per minute and an LED charge indicator.
That release said Colgate India was launching the ProClinical 150, 250R and 500R ranges on March 2022. The Colgate India page links to no individual product page for the 250R and gives no warranty period, so details come from the category page, the FAQ and the release.
Refill heads are offered in several variants. The Colgate FAQ says ProClinical refill heads fit the 150B, 250R and 500R.
Battery models in detail
Philips One by Sonicare Battery Toothbrush (HY1100/56) has the motor in the handle and soft bristles. Its smart timer buzzes every 30 seconds and again at the end of the session.
The page lists three colours, which are Miami, Midnight Blue and Manhattan, along with a warranty of two years. It does not state the battery type, the run time or which brush head is included.
It suits a first time electric user who wants a timer led brush without a charging cable.
Colgate describes the ProClinical B150 as battery operated, using AAA alkaline cells, and the FAQ gives it a two minute timer as well. The page gives no battery life figure, no brush head count and no modes for this model.
Its refill heads are shared with the rest of the ProClinical range, since the FAQ names the 150B among the fits. A buyer who wants a battery powered electric brush with that head supply is the user it describes.
Choosing between the pairs
Within the rechargeable pair, the Philips page offers more written detail on features, while the Colgate page offers a stated charge duration in days and a wider choice of refill heads. Only the Philips page states a warranty.
Among the battery pair, the Philips One names its warranty and its colours, and the Colgate B150 names its battery type. Each leaves out something the other states.
Travel is one practical test of the four. The 4300 page does not mention a travel case, the Philips One page lists no accessories, and the Colgate 250R is listed with a charger. The Colgate 500R, a model outside this comparison, is the one listed with a travel case.
Order of decisions for a first purchase
Battery system comes first. A household that already keeps a charging point at the basin can read the rechargeable pair, and a household that prefers to swap cells can read the battery pair. The stated figures for the rechargeable brushes are upper limits, and neither battery page gives a run time.
Timers come next. The NHS advice on how long to brush is written in minutes, and every model compared here carries a timer of some kind, so this point separates the four models less than it first appears. What differs is how each page describes the timer and what else is listed beside it.
Feedback while brushing is the third point. Only the ProtectiveClean 4300 page lists a pressure sensor, which makes it the one model here with that feature written down. The ADA advice on gentle pressure is the nearest dental guidance to that feature.
Supply of heads follows. Colgate states that its refill heads fit three ProClinical models, so one head type serves a small range. Philips states one included head for the 4300 and leaves the head for the Philips One unstated.
A warranty is the last point. The two Philips pages state one, while the Colgate category page states none for either of its two models. Warranty terms are often compared last, and here they separate the brands clearly.
Replacement heads and the models left out
Colgate says its electric heads should be replaced about every 3 months. Philips lists the W2 Optimal White head with the 4300, and the Philips One page does not say which head is in the box. A brush head is the part of an electric toothbrush that touches the teeth, and a buyer comparing models gains from knowing how many are supplied and how many replacements are sold.
Philips India lists its Sonicare ranges as Philips One by Sonicare, ProtectiveClean, 3000 Series and 1000 Series. The 3100 series model HX3671/13 carries a Discontinued label on the Philips India site, so it is left out.
The ADA notes that powered brushes can cost more, which makes the seller price the item to compare, and no price, rating or review figure is given for any model here. The comparison covers Philips and Colgate only, with two models from each brand.
Colgate also lists a 500R on its India page, described as rechargeable with one brush head, a travel case and a charger.