Trolley bag set of 3 in India: five sets and airline limits
By PickWise India EditorialLast reviewed November 20265 min read5 products compared
Short answer
A trolley bag set of 3 suits a family only if each traveller checks one bag, since Air India and Akasa count pieces per passenger. Assembly is the one set that publishes all three empty weights, and its 28 inch bag alone weighs 4.3 kg of a 15 kg allowance.
As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Read the disclosure.
A trolley bag set of 3 earns its place only when the airline allowance suits it, and Air India sets domestic Economy checked baggage at 15 kg on a Value fare, 20 kg on Classic and 25 kg on Flex.
Families of three or four that fly two or three times a year have to choose between a cabin, a medium and a large trolley, and a single big suitcase. The five sets below come from Assembly, Mokobara, Nasher Miles and Safari, and their pages differ widely in how much they state.
Count passengers and pieces first
Airlines count pieces and kilograms for each passenger, not for each bag. Air India gives one checked piece to Value and Classic passengers, and two pieces to Flex passengers. Charges may apply for extra pieces.
On Air India a Flex passenger may check two pieces, while Akasa Air states one checked piece only, with 15 kg per guest. A set of three bags fits a household in which each person checks one bag, and a traveller who wants all three in the hold may pay for the extra pieces.
Set labels differ across brands. Assembly names its sizes in inches, which are 20, 24 and 28, while Nasher Miles uses centimetres, which are 55, 65 and 75. Mokobara and Safari use the words cabin, medium and large. Matching a bag to an airline rule starts with the listed dimensions, and not with the size label.
Size is capped as well. Air India and Akasa both state that the length, width and height of a checked piece should not add up to more than 158 cm.
Empty weight of the large bag
Assembly is the only brand here that publishes weights for all three bags in its set. The Stark Lite lists 2.9 kg for the 20 inch cabin bag, 3.5 kg for the 24 inch bag and 4.3 kg for the 28 inch bag.
On a Value fare allowance, the 28 inch bag alone uses about 29% before anything is packed, and the three bags together weigh 10.7 kg empty. Those figures are sums and ratios worked out from the listed weights.
Assembly also lists 48 x 30 x 75 cm for the large bag, which adds up to 153 cm. That sits under the 158 cm cap, again by simple addition of the listed figures. Capacities are listed as 45 L, 75 L and 110 L for the three sizes.
The smaller Assembly bags are listed at 37 x 24 x 55 cm for the 20 inch bag and 42 x 26 x 65 cm for the 24 inch bag. Together with the large bag, the three sizes cover a spread from 45 L to 110 L of listed volume.
For a hypothetical household of four on Value fares, each person has an allowance of their own, and a set of three bags covers only three of the four travellers if each checks one bag. A fourth traveller would need a separate bag.
Whether nesting storage is worth the weight of two extra bags, compared with one 28 inch case, depends on the weights, and only Assembly publishes all three. The other four pages leave a reader to guess the empty weight of the large bag.
Warranty covers shell, wheels and trolley, and hardware
Free 1-year airline damage cover (needs PIR and photos within 7 days)
SuitsA buyer who wants the set to store compactly and values a written warranty and airline-damage cover.
Keep in mindThe set page gives no dimensions, weights, capacities, lock or shell material (it links to separate pages per bag), and the warranty excludes scratches and scuffs.
Lightweight Hard-Side 3-Piece Luggage Set (55, 65, 75 cm)
Polypropylene shell; 55, 65 and 75 cm sizes; 8 wheels
TSA lock; not expandable
Listed maximum load: small 15 kg, medium 20 kg, large 25 kg; 3-year shell warranty
SuitsA buyer who wants a polypropylene set with a TSA lock and a stated maximum load per bag.
Keep in mindThe page title says Hawaii but the product is titled differently, and the listed 10.81 kg weight and 48 x 28.5 x 75 cm size are not tied to a specific bag.
Trolley bag sets of 3 compared on shell, lock, weight and warranty
Set
Shell and lock
Empty weight
Warranty stated
Assembly Stark Lite
Polycarbonate, keyless TSA lock
2.9, 3.5 and 4.3 kg
3 years international
Mokobara Set of 3
Not stated on set page
Not stated
Shell, wheels and hardware
Nasher Miles 3 piece
Polypropylene, TSA lock
Not tied to a bag
3 years on shell
Safari Zion
Polypropylene, combination lock
Not stated
Not stated
Safari Chroma Plus
Polycarbonate, Travel Sentry lock
Not stated
5 years stated
Nesting, shells and locks
Mokobara states that the smaller bags in its set nest inside the larger ones. Safari states the same for its combos, and it repeats the claim on the Zion and Flo Secure pages. The Assembly page does not say whether its bags nest, and Nasher Miles does not mention nesting.
Shell materials are named differently. Assembly lists 100% German polycarbonate with a keyless TSA lock and 360 degree spinner wheels. Nasher Miles lists a polypropylene shell on 8 wheels, with a TSA lock, and says the bags are not expandable.
Safari Zion uses a virgin polypropylene shell with 360 degree wheels and an easy set combination lock. Safari Chroma Plus uses a virgin polycarbonate shell with dual wheels and a Travel Sentry approved lock, and lists a 42 L cabin bag and a 68 L medium bag.
Nasher Miles lists maximum loads that rise in steps of 5 kg from the small bag to the large bag. Those are the brand’s own load ratings and not airline allowances. Its combined volume is listed as 218 litres, a total and not a figure per bag.
Who each set suits
Assembly suits a family that wants all three sizes with published weights and volumes, so that packing can be planned against a fare allowance. Its limitation is that nothing on the page says the bags nest, and the 28 inch bag alone is heavy.
Mokobara suits a buyer who wants the set to store compactly and values a written warranty with airline damage cover. Nasher Miles suits a buyer who wants a polypropylene set with a TSA lock and a stated maximum load for each bag.
Safari Zion suits a buyer who prefers a nesting set with a combination lock over a TSA branded one. Safari Chroma Plus suits a buyer who wants a polycarbonate set from an Indian brand with a stated warranty.
Warranty terms
Defects in the shell, wheels, trolley and hardware are covered by Mokobara. Its page also lists a one year airline damage cover, which needs a report from the airline.
On the Nasher Miles set, the warranty runs three years on the shell and one year on accessories. Assembly lists a 3 year international warranty and a 30 day returns policy on its Stark Lite set.
Safari Chroma Plus states a 5 year warranty, although the terms behind that claim are not on the page, and the page did not settle whether the set could be ordered in November 2026. The Zion page makes no warranty statement.
Warranty lengths are easy to compare, and the exclusions are harder to find. Mokobara and Nasher Miles both list conditions that rule out scratches.
Gaps on the set pages
Several listings stop short of the details that a family needs. The Mokobara set page gives no dimensions, weights, capacities, lock type or shell material, and it links to separate pages for each bag. The Safari Zion page shows a Size and Dimensions heading with no figures, and the Chroma Plus page cuts off the large bag capacity.
Nasher Miles lists a weight and a size in its fields without tying either to a specific bag. Its page title also names a Hawaii model while the product is titled differently, so the exact model is unclear.
Assembly’s Stark Lite is the one set where a family can work out the combined weight of three bags from the page alone. Mokobara links to separate pages for each bag, and those pages carry the specifications that its set page does not.
Frequently asked questions
Does luggage warranty cover scratches?
Scratches are excluded in the warranty text of both Mokobara and Nasher Miles. Mokobara also excludes scuffs, wear and tear, overpacking, theft or loss, and commercial use.
Do Air India baggage allowances apply on Air India Express?
Air India states that its allowances apply only to flights it operates itself. Air India Express and codeshare flights are outside them.
What is the weight limit for a single checked bag?
Both Air India and Akasa state that one piece should not be heavier than 32 kg, whatever the free allowance is.
Can students check a heavier bag on Akasa Air?
Akasa says guests on student fares can check one bag of up to 25 kg on domestic flights. Other guests get 15 kg.
Does Mokobara cover airline damage?
A free one year airline damage cover is listed with the Mokobara set. A claim needs an airline damage report and photos sent within 7 days.